Humble and Kind

Humble and Kind. These words are so important, especially in the world which we live. Staying grounded seems harder than ever, with everyone posting on social media about their ‘perfect’ lives, we can get carried away with our own importance. Staying humble means knowing your own worth but also knowing that its no greater than anyone else. To realize the good things which you have in your life and to be thankful, but not to think that this makes you better than anyone. I like to think that we all do our best to stay humble and kind, even when life is hard on us. That is why I have decide to write this blog post about my experience on staying humble and kind when times are hard.

In the last couple of months, well years really, life has dealt me a pretty shitty hand. I have dealt with so much shit it just seems unfair sometimes. I get to that stage where I just want to scream. I would think, this just isn’t fair why is this happening to me? We all have theses moments in our lives, our emotions get the best of us and we crack, rightly so in may cases, sometimes we need to just let it out and be angry at the world. But this state of mind in the long haul isn’t going to help us get through these hard times. What has always helped me is thinking how lucky I am, trying to keep perspective on the situation. We are all blessed in one way or another. Sometimes it’s hard to see but we are, we are here for a start. For me I have a family who care about me, great friends, a roof over my head and food on the table. I am lucky. Some people don’t have this. Someone is always worse of then us.

I lost my dad 2 years ago, when I was 21. This was obviously one of the hardest times of my life. But what got me through it was knowing I was lucky enough to have 21 years with him. There are so many people who don’t even get this. I am lucky that I had my dad for 21 years and that I had someones who is so hard to say goodbye to. I am lucky. At the time obviously this was hard to see but I always told myself that someone has it worse then me, I had a dad who loved me more than the world and I have 21 years of memories with him. I found this the best way to look at the situation. Yes it was a shit situation and I wouldn’t wish it upon anyone, but I was still lucky. I still had things to be thankful for.

I think it’s so important to realize how lucky we are and focus on this, even when we feel like we have lost everything and life is just utter shit there is good somewhere. If you look hard enough there is something to be grateful for and and there is someone worse off than you and they still have a smile on their face. This is what has kept me grounded, knowing that life could always be worse and others do have it worse then me. We are all on a journey and sometimes that journey takes us through shitty places but if we stay positive, hold on to a little bit of hope and keep a clear perspective, that it could be worse. We will get through it. You can do it. Your journey will carry on, you will get out of this shitty place and you will get to a better place in the future. It’s through the hard times that we learn, about ourselves and the people who surround us. As much as I would never want to go though the bad times again, I am grateful to them, they have made be the person I am today. They have given me perspective of what is important in life and shown me who is truly there for me. Sometimes the bad has to happen so we can see the good.

Things will get better. They always do. But for now….

Stay humble and kind.

Adele’s Word

XOXO

88c6bf5072f5284f4f955cc4493100f9.jpg

One thought on “Humble and Kind

  1. Tamara says:

    Adele,
    You really are inspirational. I have really enjoyed reading your blog, it has made me smile and makes me think how lucky we all are. Keep writing and never give up. Losing a loved one is so painful, but you have such courage. I’ve always admired you for this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

